Okay, let’s go…..

Do you know how long I have been here? Not as long as Sidney Poitier or Betty White but, it has been awhile. On New Years Day in 1940 around 7 am I was in this warm environment with everything I needed right there at my disposal. All of a sudden, and later I wondered why, I felt the urge to leave. It felt like I was literally being pushed out of this place. I slipped right out of that warm comfortable environment into something cool enveloping part of me, which I would later learn was my behind. My education began immediately.

My Mother had four children of which I was the last. I was told that I was spoiled. I didn’t think so, it was hard being told what to do by everyone else. I grew up in a good home. We didn’t have a lot of money but we had everything we needed. My parents were loving and always had time for us. We had all our meals at the table together, nothing like today. There were no video games, cell phones or television. Unless the weather was bad, we played outside, making up games and playing with whatever we could find. One of my favorite toys was a long straight tree limb with a string tied to one end. It was my horse and we traveled everywhere. Oh, my goodness the memories.

I have taken photographs for years and I think it is one of the best ways to preserve memories. I was going through one of my many boxes of prints and found this photo made when I was in high school. I don’t remember the occasion but it warms my heart to look at it.

We were just sitting on the couch in the living room having a conversation. We lived upstairs over the business so my Dad was always at home. I had three siblings. My sister, Ryanetta was the oldest, my brother Bill was next and then my brother Bud. Here is the last photo made of us.

Well, I think it’s time to put my memories to rest for the night. It’s getting late and I need to put my head to my pillow and see where I go in my dreams. Until the next time……

One response to “Okay, let’s go…..”

  1. I enjoyed your writings and the photos – takes me back, too!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.