My quarantine

Have you been doing things during this lockdown time that you don’t normally do? Here on the farm there is always plenty to do to fill up my time. I did get my camera out and have been taking more photographs and I have watched a lot of Netflix and shows on Amazon Prime. I like the British detective shows and I love old movies.

When the movie “The Help” came out I went to the theatre to see it. I grew up in the south and I knew this kind of thing went on but, I didn’t realize how degrading and demeaning the whites were to people of color. I was taught that I was no better than anyone else. We didn’t have maids and servants. There was one lady that would come and help my Mother at times but, we never thought of her as a maid. We transported her to and from our house, she ate with us at our table and I loved her. She was an educated person that made sure her children all received a good education.

That was in the 50’s and it saddens me to my bones to think we have not progressed any further than we have. We tell ourselves we are a Christian nation. Are we? A few years back we were wearing these bracelets with WWJD on them. Have we forgotten? Well, he knows what we are doing so how do you think that makes him feel?

Growing up in church I learn the Beatitudes, did you? Do you remember what they are? Let me jog your memory:

Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven

Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted

Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth

Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be filled

Blessed are the merciful, for they shall obtain mercy

Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God

Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called children of God

Blessed are they which are persecuted for righteousness sake, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven

There are a couple of more quotes that I would remind you of and they are Honor your Father and Mother & Love thy neighbor as thyself.

I will leave you today with these things to ponder. I hope you have a safe and loving day.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.