I wouldn’t have imagined…..

When I was a young, middle-class white girl growing up in a small rural town in Kentucky I didn’t give a lot of thought to how I, or the world around me, would be when I got old. My Grandmother lived with us and she was in her 80’s and 90’s but I never thought of me at that age. Now, all of a sudden, here I am an old woman.

I didn’t think I would go to college because it cost too much. Because of the generosity of an uncle I did go to college. I got both a BS and an MA degree.

Growing up I never really thought about getting married but, I did. I married my high school sweetheart. He was in the Marine Corps and this began my traveling. I got to go to Hawaii, I had never dreamed I would go there. I have been a lot more places since.

I had two wonderful daughters. I would never have believed I could have so much love in my heart but, I did and still do for my daughters.

I have had fun, traveled, met lots of people and been filled with love to the point of bursting. If I had imagined all this as I was growing up would I have done it differently? NO! Maybe, somewhere in the deep recesses of my mind I did imagine all this. They say “Thoughts become things, choose the good ones”. I chose the best.

3 responses to “I wouldn’t have imagined…..”

  1. Great thoughts and memories.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. hallpal@aol.com Avatar
    hallpal@aol.com

    LOL you will never be old!! I always enjoy your writings! Happy Mother’s Day again and just maybe I can see you soon. Love you, Debbie

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.