Sometimes the electricity goes out.  When I was a kid in school and I had homework to do my Mom would drag out the kerosene lamps.  Have you ever studied by such a lamp?  It was hard to see but, you could see.  Thank you Benjamin Franklin and Thomas Edison.

Recently I went to St. Louis to the Lantern Festival.  It is advertised that it is magic re-imaginedDSC00325 copy DSC00340 copy  and it truly is.  It is held at the Missouri Botanical Gardens, which is beautiful on its own.   These lanterns are huge.  They are a metal frame with silk fabric over it and then, lights inside.  They are pretty to see in the daylight but magnificent in the dark.   There was a tower made of thousands of white dishes of all sizes and shapes.  The show goes on until August 23rd.  We went on a Saturday saw the show that night and came back on Sunday.  It is well worth the trip to see this show.  I don’t know when they will have it again.

I hope you have a wonderful day today.  I will leave you for now with this quote from Psalm 199:105 “Thy word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path.”

 

DSC00318 copyDSC00306 copy

