Did you see the movie, “Bucket List“?  It is the story of these two guys that are in their golden years and come to the realization that they may not have much longer to live.  They make a list of the places they have always wanted to visit and things they want to do before they die.  They decided that now is the time and they start out on this adventure.  They had things on this list like sky diving, visiting friends they hadn’t seen in a long time and seeing the Grand CanyonHawaii 2009 792 copy

I guess the reason I started thinking about that movie is because, this is the time of year when some people begin thinking about a New Years resolution.  One of the things I wanted to do after my family had been stationed in Hawaii was to go back.  Thanks to my daughters I got to do that.  This photo is not of the Grand Canyon in Arizona but is Waimea Canyon on Kauai.  It is the Grand Canyon of Hawaii.  I don’t usually make a resolution at the beginning of a new year,  I make resolutions daily.  I have a birthday on the first day of every year so I call it my “re-birth” day.  I make a silent vow to make each new year better than the last one as much as I possibly can.

I will leave you today with a quote from a woman who did just that.  She spread so much love and kindness to people all over the world.  She is one of my mentors.  This is what she said:  “Spread LOVE everywhere you go:  First of all in your own house.  Give love to your children, to your wife or husband, to a next door neighbor….  Let no one ever come to you without leaving better or happier.  Be the living expression of God’s kindness;  kindness in your face, kindness in your eyes, kindness in your smile; kindness in your warm greeting.”  Mother Teresa.   Express yourself,  Melanie

