It is pretty cold this morning.  We had a nice, gentle rain yesterday afternoon and last night.  The predictors are saying we are going to have a colder winter that we have had in a while.  If we do. I hope you have made some preparations to be ready for whatever “Old Man Winter” hands out.  After we had the ice storm a few years ago I did buy a generator.  During that storm I had borrowed one from my niece in Franklin.  They didn’t lose power.  I knew then that I would not be caught again without one.

What seems like a little thing to one person can be a huge thing to someone else.  That generator kept me from losing the food in my refrigerator.    You never know what an impact you can make on someones life by doing something that you think nothing about.  You may allow someone to use your cell phone to make a call and it ends up saving a life.  Maybe you have a perfectly good warm coat that you don’t use anymore and you put it in a clothes box somewhere and it ends up on the back of someone who didn’t have a coat.    This is the season for shopping.  What do you think about the person on the other side of the counter?  Do you think about how tired they might be, do their feet hurt or do they have a baby at home they are thinking about?  A smile is a small thing that can sometimes lift a spirit and make a person feel better.  I have a fellow that works on my farm and he is always smiling.  He seems to carry this happiness around with him and he shares it with his smile. It warms my heart to see him coming.

  These ice crystals are a small thing but, they give me joy with their beauty.  We often go through the day with ‘blinders’ on.  We pass by so many beautiful things without seeing them.  Our Creator put so much right in front of our eyes but, it is up to us to look and see.

I went all the way back to the Holy Roman Empire to find my quote today,  “Very little is needed to make a happy life.  It is all within yourself, in your way of thinking.”  Marcus Aurelius.  I am going to take a nap now.  That was a long journey.  Melanie

